Accreditation standards

Anatomy of a standard

Most Qmentum standards include the following components:

Standards example

  1. a) sections, in all caps and light grey font
  2. b) the standard, in bold text (i.e. 1.0)
  3. c) a criterion, in normal font (i.e. 1.1)
  4. d) guidelines

Note: surveyors rate each criterion (i.e. 1.1) as it includes measurable elements and defines what is required to achieve the standard. Surveyors do not evaluate guidelines, but guidelines do include helpful suggestions on how to meet the criterion.


System-wide standards

These standards are important in all health care organizations. They include:



These standards address specific types of services and conditions. We are using the following 25 service-excellence standards based on the services we provide: